Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
9,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a first interview (there are 3 to go through) on Monday for a really good job. I could use some good vibes. It's a government job, so there's a fair ammount of competition. Thanks guys! Wish me luck, I haven't had an interview in about 6 years (when I started with the bank). ;D

·
Registered
9,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you! ;D I'll be sweating the whole time. It's hard (around here) to get a government job unless you know someone, there's virtually no turnover. I've been applying for about 6 months now and finally, a phone call.

·
Registered
8,070 Posts
Hey, I was wondering what you've been up to, haven't seen you around lately!

GOOD LUCK!

That would be my luck, you would go to work the same time I'm off for a year, just when I was thinking we could try to get together for a doggy play day!

What dept is it for? Maybe I do know someone... ;)

·
Registered
9,781 Posts
it's hard to get a gov't job anywhere.. although the "unless you know someone" shouldn't be a factor. Gov't tends to be pretty careful not to get accused of nepotism.

·
Registered
9,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Thanks everyone. CoCosmom, it's just the DMV, but it's a foot in the door. What a "procedure" to get in though...sheesh! The position is part time leading to full, so hopefully I'll still have enough time left in my week for a puppers play date! ;D

·
Registered
9,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Jan said:
Federal, provincial, or municipal?

Good luck!!
Provincial.
My BIL has worked for Canada Post for the past 26 yrs and he's trying to help me get on there, but a lot of the "foot in the door" positions seem to involve backshift, which I'm unable to do. Federal would kick butt.

·
Registered
8,070 Posts