Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

Alex is biting and playing too rough latetly and its getting a little out of control for comfort. To the point my 7 year old son will not come out of his room when alex is in the living room with us.

things we have tried so far

1. ignoring him and ending play time (has worked the best so far)

2. loud "ouch" or "yelp"

3. growling back at him.

4. gently holding his mouth closed

90% of the time he's a good boy but when we try to play with him he automatically gets too excited and starts biting at our hands,feet whatever he can get a hold too.

Any advice is highly appreciated

Thanks,

Danny

·
Registered
53 Posts
Holding his mouth shut never worked for us. I would advise against growling back, I think it actually encourages the rough house play style but I am not an expert. The ouch or yelp only worked for us a few times. We found ignoring and ending the play time to work best for us too. Just stick to whatever you choose and be consistant. I would think sticking to just one is the best option. It will get better. It worked for us within a week or two. Sometimes there are a few episodes when he gets really excited but they cease as soon as we ignore.

·
Registered
159 Posts
We also have a the same thing going on with our puppy, Muddy. He gets into the "zone" and just wants to rough house. Only thing that calms him down is the penalty box (crate). With all the bad weather we have been having, we can not get him out enough, and I think that adds to his frustration, in the house.

·
Registered
229 Posts
My pup did the same thing. I still have marks on my arms. We just would walk away and turn around for 30-60 seconds. She would be confused and eventually stopped the biting. She will occasionally bite now but its much softer and she doesnt pull or try to tear skin. I stearn NO now stops her.

·
Registered
11,990 Posts