Just Labradors banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I submitted a pre-authorization form for Java's 2 upcoming TPLO surgeries.
DENIED by PetPlan.
I blew my stack and ripped into them.
They're going to "look into it" and get back to me.
Friggin insurance companies.
$7000 for both surgeries, NOT including after-care.
I am SO not giving up on this...they are going to pay for the surgeries.

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
Wow! I am so sorry, but I'm glad you're going to keep fighting. I have no experience with pet insurnace, just insurance for my horses.

·
Registered
4,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I too am curious as to their explanation...

I have read all the terms and conditions as well as clauses and exclusions.
All they require is that a complete exam has been within the 12 month period prior to signing up for insurance to rule out pre-existing conditions. Now they are telling me that in order for the surgery to have been covered I needed to have gotten a health certificate specifically stating that Java's knees were healthy within 30 days of signing up for the insurance, prior to her injury. My vet clearly stated that Java had never been treated for a cruciate injury prior to this and I alsio have faxed over her COMPLETE medical records and doctor's exam notes since the day we brought her home at 8 weeks. The guy told me that that is not good enough, they need a certificate from her vet prior to the injury stating that her knees were healthy. A certificate after she is injured saying her knees were healthy prior to this injury is not enough. I signed up specifically over the phone so I would know EXACTLY what I needed to do to make sure my dogs and myself were covered completely. The agent I signed up with neglectd to mention the health certificate thing....the supervisor I spoke with is going to review the calls and get back to me.