Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I just went home for lunch Jake was making these weird hacking/choking sounds sort of like a cat trying to hack up a hairball. He did this for about 5 minutes or so. Last night he did the same thing for 5 minutes or so. Nothing seems to be coming up when he's doing this. Everything else seems normal - he's eating, drinking water, going to the bathroom and just as playful as usual.

Is this weird or a normal doggie thing? (I'm still new to this!)

·
Registered
7,913 Posts
It sounds as though he may have something stuck in his throat. Of course, I might be totally wrong but that was my first thought.

·
Registered
6,676 Posts
I'd guess Kennel Cough.

·
Registered
8,752 Posts
Sounds like kennel cough to me too. Has he been boarded/at daycare lately?

·
Registered
8,657 Posts
If he keeps doing it - probably kennel cough. Skippy sounded like he had something stuck in his throat and was gagging and hacking to get it up when he had kennel cough. If it just happens after, or associated with eating, he might just be gobbling his food and then gagging a little afterward. Emilu often starts to gag on her training treats about 3/4 way through obedience class because she gobbles them down and starts to choke on them, espcically if she is a little nervous.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
No, he hasn't been boarded or at a daycare. He's not around other dogs very often. Last time was about two weeks ago.

Ok, I did a search on Kennel Cough and it does sound like that. I'm still worried it could be something stuck in his throat though....I don't know what to do... I guess just keep a close eye on him for now? I'm back at work now and don't get off for three more hours... ???

We were going to start an obedience training class tomorrow...maybe I need to call that off until we figure this out....

·
Registered
8,752 Posts