Just Labradors banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8,472 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Copied from my post on imdb.com:

7 of 10 stars

I've seen only one other Sam Mendes movie ("American Beauty") and also found that entertaining but seriously flawed in the character of Ricky Fits, the linchpin of the movie around whom everything revolved. I'm a retired clinical psychologist with much experience working with character disorders and Ricky Fits displayed an amalgam of incompatible symptoms and characteristics I couldn't imagine in my wildest dreams.

"Away We Go" has dabs of that quality but is also a quite entertaining, improbable comedy -- somewhat as a cartoon may exaggerate some features to make a valid point.

The principal characters, John Krasinski/"Burt" & Maya Rudolph/"Verona" are an interesting unmarried committed couple who are expecting their first child in 3 months. Per the script, Verona is far brighter and sharper than Burt and the movie reveals few hints at what pulls them together other than that Verona is in quiet, ultimate control and Burt is satisfied with that. They're both excellent in their roles but it's Rudolph's portrayal that provides the glue that makes the film work.

Faced with responsibly bringing their child in the world, they've decided to settle near friends or family; their first choice is to be near his parents but they're distressed to find they've made plans to be in Belgium for the next 2 years and are completely focused on anticipating their fun and lives there rather than fulfilling ANY role as the child's grandparents.

The couple flies around North America, making a variety of stops visiting family members or old friends but fairly consistently finding those visits marred by the exaggerated (IMO) one-dimensionality of the people they're visiting. Although exaggerated, these sketches provide much of the humor--as well as poignancy on their visit with friends in Montreal and his brother in Florida.