Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just adopted a stray black lab (about 8 weeks old). About 10 days after we took him in, he developed parvo. He has been a very sick puppy. He has been on IV's for 7 days now and he is finally showing signs of improvement. He finally ate some food and drank some water and was able to keep it all down.
My question is: What are his chances of survival at this point and will there be any long lasting effects from the parvo?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
9,693 Posts
I am by no means an expert but I think at this point you're starting to see the other side and there SHOULD be no long term effects. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
I had a Lab X that had Parvo. I was working at the animal hospital when he came in at the time with Parvo, and the owners didn't want to treat it and I elected to adopt him, and treat him. He came close to death several times during treatment, but every time the vets asked me if I wish to continue, I would go check on him, and his tail never stopped wagging. He went on to live a long life, and showed no complications due to the Parvo.

-Shannon

·
Registered
836 Posts
We have had many cases of parvo come in here, most ended with the dog surviving. There are no longterm complications once the virus has been treated. They have all gone on to live happy lives.

It sounds like you have turned a corner in his recovery. Hopfully he will rebound quickly now and get on with the task of being a happy puppy with a loving family. Best of luck with him.

·
Registered
12,586 Posts
I have never experienced Parvo, but I just wanted to say thank you and God bless for saving this little guy's life. You are his guardian angel, and he's so lucky to have found you.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6