Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Labrador Retriever Owners and Breeders,

My name is Ruth Marcec, and I am an undergraduate Honors student attending Florida State University in the field of Biology (Pre-Veterinary). I am conducting my Honors Thesis research on the temperament and health of various breeds and mixed breeds of dogs. My major professor is Dr. Barbara Licht. This post was approved by a moderator of this forum.

One of the breeds included in my study is Labradors. This post is requesting owners of Labradors to fill out a short questionnaire on your dog. All information provided will be held strictly confidential, to the extent allowed by law. Findings from this study will be posted to this forum after the data are completely analyzed (February, 2008). So that no one spends too much time on the questionnaire, I ask that you complete the questionnaire on ONLY ONE of your Labradors. If you have more than one Labrador, write each dog's name on a piece of paper, fold up the paper, and blindly (randomly) pick one. This way, I can get an unbiased sampling of Labs.

The study consists of two short questionnaires. The first asks you to rate the temperament of your dog on 23 temperament items. It takes between 10 and 20 minutes. The second questionnaire asks about your dog’s health history. It takes between 5 and 15 minutes. This second survey is optional, but your input would be extremely helpful to the study. I strongly encourage you to complete the second survey, but if time is an issue, I understand. If you are interested in participating, please reply to the email address below. You will receive the questionnaire via e-mail within 2-7 days of your request. The questionnaire will come from the e-mail address:

[email protected]