Just Labradors banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Cassie came home with us at 10 weeks old, with fleas, Giardia and a severe UTI. I brought her to the vet, who I like (personality-wise) and trust medically since I've been using him for 5+ years with Piper. We did a course of Clavamox (UTI), metronitazole & Panacur (Giardia) and things seemed good.

7 days after finishing the first course of meds the UTI symptoms were back - frequent urination, specks of blood in her urine - along with overall lethargy and refusal of food. Vet kept her for one day and overnight observation, got a sterile urine sample for re-culture and prescribed a higher dosage and longer course of antibiotics. The urine culture came back positive for the UTI and we assumed we never knocked it out the first time around. Did 14 more days of Clavamox and things seemed good, again. Brought Cass back in for another urine culture 48 hours after finishing the meds to be sure we were free of the UTI.

5 days post meds this time around the symptoms are back, urine culture results came in last night and the infection is still present (surprise, surprise). Back on another course of abx, this time the human med Nitrofurantoin, since the Clavamox is clearly not working and nothing else in the vetrinary abx arsenal is safe for use in growing puppies.