Just Labradors banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to keeping dogs. I've been an aquarist for many years but finally i have got a chance to adopt a lab pup.

First question, should i pick a male or female? I am more inclined towards a male though. My friend's lab as delivered a litter of 3 females and 2 males a month ago and now she has asked me to choose one.

How do i go about this? I have done a lot of google searches on this, but would still appreciate feedback.

Regards.

·
Registered
3,575 Posts
I was going to say that you should trust the judgement of the breeder as they have lived with the pups for close to 8 weeks and can help determine personality matches to the families. But since the breeder is a friend, and you are asked to choose at a time when personalities aren't even formed yet (4 weeks wont' truly give you an indiciation of what that pup might be like as an adult), I would just let the pup pick you. My inclination is always a male as they tend to me more loving towards you. Girls will be smaller, if that's a necessary consideration.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks for the reply.

My friend though is not a professional breeder. Her lab and the stud to whom she got her lab mated are both show winning dogs. So i'm quite happy about that.

There are 2 males in the litter of 5, one is the first born (named Ron) and the other is the last born (named Jazz).

I'm more inclined towards Jazz as he seemed more alert and friendly when i last saw him a few days ago.

I have by day after tomorrow to choose a pup so any opinions are welcomed.

Another question: She has already named the pups. Can i change the name after i get one home? It will be 8 weeks by that time and the pups would be quite used to being called by their names i guess?

Thanks.

·
Registered
44,122 Posts