Just Labradors banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Baxter drinks a lot of water and always has. He is 7 years old in May and all indications are he is in very good health. How much is normal?? :)

By the way I have been reading this forum for a long time and just joined. Glad to be a part of the board. :)

·
Registered
202 Posts
Hiya. Not quite sure what the norm is. Poppy has days when i can't fill her bowl fast enough and days when she drinks very little. I am a novice lab owner, but i am sure some the more experienced owners will be able to help you.

Michelle

·
Registered
16,476 Posts
Welcome!

Zoe usually drinks 3x in the am.
then I think she goes all day w/o drinking water. Her bowls are full when I get home.

Then in the evening, perhaps 3 more times.

On weekends, a bit more because we go to the beach, and I think the salt water makes her thirsty.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Finnigan has his moments..He drinks a lot after we go for a walk or to the dog park, but other times he'll drink only a little bit

·
Registered
7,913 Posts
Not much at all actually, but they do get plenty of raw meals which is one explanation. The only time they really seem to drink a lot is on hot days during/after exercise. Otherwise it is just sporadically.

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Moose drinks a lot in the morning after his walk and usually after meals. He really drinks a lot too!, much more than Sky. Sky drinks usually after meals and then after a good hard play. I have to watch her because she will drink a lot late in the evenings if I let her.

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
Tanking water may be a bad sign. Before Misty was diagnosed with Cushings, she was drinking upwards of three gallons of water a day. Check the urine and if it is absolutely clear, contact your vet.

T

·
0 Posts
Trickster said: