Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12,586 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As you know, I really don't know that much about breeding...so for those who do, I wondered what you thought of this breeder:

http://www.greymontkennel.com/index.html

My friend has a pup from here. He's about nine months old and they are trying to make a decision now whether they want to think about breeding him. I asked if he had Ch's in the past couple of generations, and she says he does. So...? What say the experienced breeders? The Web site looks nice to me, but again, I don't really know what to look for.

·
Registered
44,122 Posts
Connie, send them Dani's link! :happy:

·
Registered
4,737 Posts
Im not an expert either but I think they look legit. On their Sire and Dam pages they have family tree history and titles won. Cant find anything on health testing but they look good

·
Registered
12,586 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
jzgrlduff said:
Connie, send them Dani's link! :happy:
Oh of course I've already done that! :laugh:

·
Registered
12,586 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Would still appreciate input. Should I have put "Silver" Lab in the title to get people to read? ;)

·
Registered
20,085 Posts
I'm afraid that if they've read Dani's flowchart and are still intent on breeding, that there will be scant you can do to dissuade them.

But if they plunge ahead and things go badly, you are herewith authorized to give the biggest I TOLD YOU SO of your life!!

·
Registered
6,676 Posts
Well, were they sold the dog on limited registration..at first glance, that would be the only flaw in this kennel. If they are not working they dog to title or worrying about clearances, then they need to neuter and be done with it.

What does the breeder say?

·
Registered
2,079 Posts
Why are they making that decision now? He is too young to have his hips/elbows cleared, right? I would think that he would be too immature to make any real decision on him yet.