Just Labradors banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

Okay, I have another question for you. I am new to all of this and want to make sure I do everything the way I am supposed to :)

What do you use to clean your lab's ears? Also, what is the correct way to clean their ears? How often?

Thanks again!!!!

·
Registered
42 Posts
I'm sure everyone has a different opinion on this... but... I know that when & if you do attempt to clean ur lab's ears. Alot of people have had success with the purple ear solution. You can get the recipe from the woodhaven labs site.

G

·
Guinness said:
I'm sure everyone has a different opinion on this... but... I know that when & if you do attempt to clean ur lab's ears. Alot of people have had success with the purple ear solution. You can get the recipe from the woodhaven labs site.
Here is a link to the formula referenced above: http://www.woodhavenlabs.com/ears.html

I haven't tried it - but I'm going to. I just got the Gentian Violet in the mail.

You shouldn't mess with their ears unless they are dirty, gunky, or smelly. You should, however, dry their ears if they get wet.

·
Registered
217 Posts
I picked up an ear cleaning solution from my vet. Just squirt a little in there and rub it in with the ear flap closed. Let her shake it out and clean up with cotton balls. They recomend that we do this weekly, but it usually ends up being bi-weekly... I know different vets have different opinions on different dogs.. So I'd check with your vet to be sure...

·
Registered
29,548 Posts
I only clean ears IF there is gunk in them. Otherwise I leave well enough alone.

·
Registered
3,575 Posts