Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
2,938 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw some footage from that last episode of the Bachelor (I think they were outtakes?), and it really got me to thinking. That guy was boohooing "like a girl." Not choked up, not teary, not emotional. He was crying and literally sobbing.

I'm a wedding and event videographer, so I go to a LOT of weddings, rehearsal dinners, receptions, etc. And I can absolutely, positively say that if someone is going to cry at a wedding, it's going to be the mother of the groom and the groom! Sure, sometimes brides cry, bridesmaids, etc. But the vast majority of the time, it's the guys. They cry during the vows and during the toasts.

And you're always seeing guys cry on the news....whether it's because a tornado blew away their house, or the jocks when they retire, get traded, or some news anchor, etc.

Now, this is my question, and I think maybe it's a question for only us oldie goldies. Do any of y'all remember guys crying like this back when we were young? I sure don't. Do you think men are more "in touch with their emotions" today?

I'm not saying it's wrong or bad for men to cry. It's fine...it's wonderful...it's absolutely terrific.

I asked my husband (who wouldn't shed a tear if his life depended on it) what he thought about all the men crying. He said he didn't necessarily think men cried more and more easily now days, but that it's just plastered all over the TV, movies, internet, etc., so we see it more than we did 40-50 years ago.

What do y'all think?

·
Registered
6,054 Posts
I don't know, but you are right--it seems that more and more men are crying on TV etc. Since I am older than dirt--I don't ever remember seeing men cry when I was young. Men just didn't cry.
Now a few tears can be sexy, but blubbering--not so much.

·
Registered
2,697 Posts
I teared up a little during our marriage ceremony; my wife did not.

·
Registered
44,122 Posts