Just Labradors banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am new to this message board so if this subject has already been discussed, please forgive me.

I have a two-year old Lab who seems to do fine on dry dog food for a while then will have stomach issues (vomit). I was wondering if anyone on this board has their dog on a homemade chicken (cooked of course) & rice diet and can give any advice for doing this as a permanent diet. Recipes that you use, vitamins that you give in addition to, etc. I am just starting to research this while I am waiting for the vet to get back with me concerning a nutrition book she thinks she has.

Thanks in advance.

[attachment deleted by admin]

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
You'll have to be very careful to make the diet balanced. Have you tried the sensitive stomach diets? Do you moisten your dog's dry food? Regardless, I hope you can resolve the problem. Just work closely with your vet to insure a balanced diet. ;)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes we have been moistening the dry food. I have not tried the sensitive formula dog food...yet. Just researching options. Just seems like he has a hard time with dog food no matter what formula it is.

Thanks for replying.

·
Registered
7,913 Posts
What brand are you feeding and how much of it? sometimes these problems can simply be caused by overfeeding. It could even be an intolerance to one or more ingredients.

You CAN do a homecooked diet, but most people favour feeding RAW over cooked. A diet of just chicken and rice is not balanced and you would have to supplement with bones, different meat protein sources and other bits and pieces (veggies, etc.). A raw/homecooked diet will never be as "balanced" as a high quality dry feed but missing out certain nutrients can actually do the dog more harm then good.

If you want to learn more about raw feeding, try these links;

www.rawlearning.com
groups.yahoo.com/group/rawfeeding