Just Labradors banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
703 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there are no experts here, but I do have a question.

Are OFA scores and Pennhip percentiles only as good as the dog's worst hip?

For example, i

1) If a dog has one hip that is OFA Excellent and one that is OFA good, would the radiologist call it a 'Good' for the record?

2) Dog has one OFA Excellent and one OFA Fair - would the score be an average of good or would it be a 'fair'?

3) a dog had a DI of .28 and a .37 would the percentile (rating compared to other dogs of the same breed) be based on the .37? Or an average?

I would think the scores would be based on the dog's worst hip, but I am not sure.

·
Registered
3,575 Posts
I am no expert but I haven't heard of dog with hips varying that much. But I suppose they would give it an overall score based on the worst hip....

·
Registered
5,276 Posts
I don't know much about OFA, because personally I don't like it. However, I do know a little about PennHIP.

Each hip gets a DI score but each dog gets a percentile score. So, Jake's left hip had a DI of 0.38 (median DI for labs is 0.48) and his right hip had a DI of 0.28. He is in the 80th percentile (I had to get out his chart to make sure, I thought they gave an exact percentage, but that was in my head apparently).

I believe, and it was my understanding from the doctor, that his score was based on an average of the two distraction indexes, so his average DI would've been a 0.33. According to PennHIP there is a low chance of DJD when the score is close to 0.30, higher as it gets close to 0.70. But, some say the problem with the percentiles is that they change over time, so a 90th percentile today could be a 70th percentile 10 years from now. (I don't buy this as a problem personally) Our sheet says the breed specific evaluations are analyzed semi-annually.