Just Labradors banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My husband and I are looking to move our house is fine but we have very little yard and a terrible mosquito problem we haven't been able to fix and we just want more privacy and room. My husband is dead set on buying some land and in a few years building a house. We would likley get the site ready and put our current house on the market and live in a trailer while building the house. I'm much more hesitant while I love the idea of having some land and a brand new house that's built for us I have no idea how everything works with the loans for the land and construction. I know a bunch of people who have built houses recently and it seems financing was a huge issue for them even though they could afford the house. Designing the house wouldn't be that big of an issue I'm a draftsman for an architect and feel pretty confident I could do the drawings and get my bosses to review them for a small fee. DH is a Geotech Engineer so he can handle the site issues we may have and see if it's buildable before we purchase it and help inspect work being done during the building process. I'm also wary of finding a good contractor most of the people I know that have built had one heck of a time getting the job finished they would get it most of the way done but leave little things unfinished and it would take forever to finish them.

Anyway I know a few of you have built recently any insight that might help. I really like our realtor so I'm sure she can answer some questions too but I really don't like going into something like this without a good understanding of the process.
TIA

·
Registered
4,486 Posts
I have a friend in Alabama that is doing this. They are doing the trailer thing on the land while they build. Have been at it now for a few years but they are doing it themselves. Sounds wonderful to me!

·
Registered
1,782 Posts
Discussion Starter #4