Just Labradors banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,573 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my husband and i have wanted to do this for years. we have absolutely no where within a 40 mile radius to take the girls to play all day. they just built one about 10 minutes from my house but it's on a very busy road and my husband would worry himself sick about the girls finding an escape route and getting into the traffic. i am a teacher so i have the summers off to get the business started and if it really took off, my husband would quit his job and take over when school restarts. we would hire a few people to get us started depending on what the enrollment rate would be and want to make sure we provide the safest, most comfortable place for dogs and their owners. my husband also mentioned putting up video camera so the owners could monitor their dogs. we don't have any children that would need attending to and i don't mind the work (clean up and all that) and i'm excellent at bookkeeping.

where is a good place to start when thinking about doing a business such as this? anyone ever start something like this? we would definitely have to find a place with property to rent because our house is just too small.

any suggestions. Thanks.

·
Registered
339 Posts
I think the first thing I'd do is look into permits/certifications.

Good luck, I wish I had the follow through to do that...it sounds like a blast.

·
Registered
680 Posts
You will need a business plan if you want to borrow money from a bank. I'm sure you can find good information on making one on-line or at the library.

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
Before you think about borrowing money, business plans or buildings, you either need to work at a daycare or find one that will let you come for an extended visit (open-close for a week or so). Do you have any animal behavior experience? There's a lot more to it than playing with the pups ;)

·
Registered
7,913 Posts