Just Labradors banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,425 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a graphic/web designer by trade.. i get asked to do enough side work around here that I started to wonder if i should officially launch a home-based business to do freelance work from.

I don't really /need/ to be official about it, but i'm wondering if i'm losing out on the tax benefits of not claiming a home-based business.

All i hear around tax time is how people with a home business claim everything but the kitchen sink .. so i'm thinking.. should i make my freelance work official?

Are there pros and cons to something like this?

·
Registered
12,170 Posts
No real cons, just benefits. You get to claim all kinds of deductions on your home which outweigh any additional tax paid on your extra income. Run down to City Hall and get yourself a business license! I guess you're already there, aren't you?

Also, it might be worthwhile getting an accountant to walk you through all the deductions available to you.

·
Registered
4,425 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dogs, in the states, can become deductions as they are part of the security for the business premises...
I always told tuck he needed to get a part-time job to pay for those vet bills.

·
Registered
5,211 Posts
Brendan does.

I'm not exactly sure of all the tax breaks he gets. I do know he claims his car, gas, and any repairs he has done on it. He claims a certain amount of square feet of our house, because it is his office.. I'll have to ask him when he gets home what some of the other things he claims are.

·
Registered
44,122 Posts
We can deduct everything, including the kitchen sink, because of Paul's self-employment. :) Computer, office supplies, advertising, the cost of his license, cell phone - etc., etc.!!!

·
Registered
6,114 Posts