Puff is sure a slow learner in getting "turn right," "turn left"

Thread: Puff is sure a slow learner in getting "turn right," "turn left"

Bob Pr. is offline Senior Member

DefaultPuff is sure a slow learner in getting "turn right," "turn left"

& I'm a slow teacher.

My first Lab, Bess, learned quickly but was extremely motivated to retrieve -- she was never satiated even when she'd been doing it for an hour, retrieve after retrieve. We used training dummies (with a lanyard to let me sling them farther) and she quickly learned to follow hand signals [go (the direction pointed), right, left, come back] or my (mouth) whistle calls to go right (2 short higher pitched notes) or left (one longer lower pitchednote). Anything to retrieve whatever was thrown.

She could be sent swimming in water and I could give her at least 6 or more commands in a row (R - L - L - R - R - L) before throwing in her dummy to retrieve and she always turned immediately and accurately. She impressed me and everyone who saw her.

Puff and I have been working on turning R and L for over 6 years and it is barely sinking in.

Unlike Bess, Puff is neither highly motivated by food or to retrieve. Bess (on land) went out to retrieve at her top speed (about 30 mph) and back at the same rate. Puff runs at about her quarter speed going out and kind of lopes back at a slightly slower rate.

I think they were about equal in speed of learning sit, stay, come, down, leave it, stand, shake (water off) so I don't think it's a difference in trainability as much as it is of motivation.

Years ago, I dropped the whistling calls used with Bess and began shouting "Right!" or "Left!" along with arm signals at the same time.

(When I say right or left, I'm referring to her right and left, not mine.)