New Puppy, some advice?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Puppy, some advice?

DefaultNew Puppy, some advice?

Hi there, I am getting a lab puppy in the next couple weeks from a friend who is a breeder. My daughter picked out one of the seven puppies, the largest one in the litter. She is a lovely yellow lab, but what I have noticed is that her coat seems to be a little longer than the others. My daughter calls her coat whispy. Is this a common trait? I have never noticed it before. Also, at 7 weeks, her teeth seem to be coming in slower than her brothers and sisters. Any cause for concern?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: New Puppy, some advice?

Firstly, congratulations on your new puppy!

I would definately consult with the breeder. is your friend a breeder of registered Labs? If so, she/he should be able to provide you with health certifications. Have you seen the dam & sire? How much longer is the fur? I am no expert so I can't really offer more advice than asking the breeder for the certifications & beeding info, which they should make available upfront anyway.

jzgrlduff is offline Senior Member

Hi, welcome!!
    The breeder probably has puppy pics on her website, no? Can you show us so we know what you're talking about?

"Each is a creature of Earth and is entitled to reside on it with dignity"

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Yes, I have met the parents, I've known them for years. Beautiful standard Labradors. Short smooth, sleek coats on both of them. I have been doing a little more research online, and from what I have seen, it seems that our pup has fur similar to what has been described as "wire haired". It's soft and mostly short, with whispies. I read on another site that there is a recessive gene that can cause a longer "wire haired" coat in labs...anyone else heard of this?