Housebreaking Question

Thread: Housebreaking Question

DefaultHousebreaking Question

I just adopted a 12 week old pup. I've had him here with me for a few hours now. I know that he doesn't have good control over his bladder at 12 weeks, and it is my responsibility to bring him outside before he has an accident, but I'm a beginner at this, and this dog seems to urinate a lot. I brought him outside when we first got home, and he urinated outside. He was still on the deck, but at least he was outside. I praised him and gave him a piece of cheese. About an hour later he urinated on the rug in front of the door, but didn't notice until after he had finished. He did this again about 45 minutes later. I know that if I catch him in the act I can yell "no" and then I can bring him outside. But what do I do if I catch him after it happens? Do I still yell no and put him outside?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

brody is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Housebreaking Question

Quote Originally Posted by Scoper50
    I can yell "no" and then I can bring him outside. But what do I do if I catch him after it happens? Do I still yell no and put him outside?
    congrats on finding a puppy

I have to tell you I yelled NO at the screen when I read your post

the KEY to house training is catching the puppy doing RIGHT and offering lavish praise for it

if you can clap your hands and interupt the flow scoop puppy outseide then praise for finishing the job thats great

but basically until the pooch is at least 6 months old it is YOU who is housetrained not the puppy

puppies go potty:
    when they wake up
    when they play
    when they eat
    when they drink
    when they get out of a car
    and a million other times too

the rule of thumb is a 12 week old puppy will have to go potty at least once every 4 hours and often more

hang in there - we've all been there

cheers
    http://andrea-agilityaddict.blogspot.com/