First Time Dog Owner - Need Puppy Help!

Thread: First Time Dog Owner - Need Puppy Help!

smooreo is offline Junior Member

DefaultFirst Time Dog Owner - Need Puppy Help!

Guinness just arrived on Friday and he's 8 weeks old. This is my first time with a dog, so I don't have any experience! I've read a couple of books, but now that he's here, it's all gone out of my head, it seems!

He's very good at night - only needs to be let out once. We've had a few accidents, but that's to be expected. I don't think he's peed in his crate yet, which is great.

I have a few questions about taking him outside and about crate training.

When we're in our front or back yard, he's very interested in leaves, grass, and sticks. Is it normal for dogs to want to eat them? If it's not ok, how do I get him to not eat them? I already feel like "Guinness, No" is a regular occurence.

As for his crate, I just put him in there after we were outside for quite a while. He's pretty tired and needs a sleep. I put him in there with a treat, but he keeps yelping, and is starting to bark. The last few nights he's fallen asleep in the family room and then we move him, but I want him to get use to going in there himself to sleep. Any ideas omn how to facilitate this?

TIA!

Sarah and Guinness

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Chester B. Dickens is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: First Time Dog Owner - Need Puppy Help!

Read the OUR BEST ADVICE sticky.

And it's best if he doesn't eat sticks/leaves in the yard. Instead of NO, attach a specific command to the specific behavior you want. In this case, it's LEAVE IT (or whatever else you find that works to keep his mouth off things). But understand that you're dealing w/a baby here. At 8 wks, you're lucky if he even remembers that his tail is a part of his own body!

Can you rake the yard some, just to get rid of the temptation?

TangerineFizz is offline Senior Member