Help with "down"

Thread: Help with "down"

Binasmom is offline Junior Member

DefaultHelp with "down"

Hi,
    My 7 yr. black lab Bina seems to have ADD = she can "sit" very good but I can't get her to learn down. I already tried the treat on the floor and luring to the floor - all she does is bend her head down from sit or standing position to pick up the treat. She also gets frustrated and starts barking - usually the only time she barks. I think some of it may have to do with her size. She is an exceptionally large retriever. I have never seen her laying down resting without being on her side. My other dogs all lay on their bellies but she never has. Any suggestions?
    IMG]http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r285/PIsces040/dogs020.jpg[/IMG]

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

imported_Sambucasmom is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Help with "down"

Well I am not a training expert, but a few things to try:

Try training on different surfaces. If she is big, she may feel like she is slipping. Does she have hip problems or arthritis that possibly hurt her? Maybe she is barking out of frustration because she has trouble going down to the floor in that position. Just a thought.

Then instead of placing the treat on the floor...have her sit and show her the treat. Slowly lure her to the floor with the treat. Almost pull it away and down at the same time. That way she has room to move down and still keep her eyes on the treat. Then of course reward! Good luck! I am sure some other members will give you some advice as well!
    <br />Debbie and Sambuca

steveandginger is offline Senior Member

Binasmom --