Puppy Labrador arriving today
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Puppy Labrador arriving today

Karimz is offline Junior Member

DefaultPuppy Labrador arriving today

Hey there, I've been reading along in this forum for advice about how to train and raise up a good puppy lab into an intelligent friend, but I really never got full advice or the steps to take in raising him. I'm getting my new puppy lab today and cant wait to raise him, but I'm really new to this and need your help in this. Feeding him, training him, where to put him to sleep, etc.. Please reply asap, for I dont want it to be too late before I find the right advice. Thank you in advance and good work on the forum

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

kaytris is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Puppy Labrador arriving today

http://www.siriuspup.com/beforebook.html

http://www.dragonflyllama.com/%20DOG...g1/levels.html

http://www.clickersolutions.com/blog/blog10.htm

The thread "our best advice" in the puppy section

Patricia McConnell's "Other end of the Leash" and "For the Love of a dog"

Pat Miller's "Power of Positive dog Training" and "Positive Perspectives"

Ian Dunbar's "How to teach a new dog Old Tricks

Trickster is offline Senior Member

Congratulations on your new addition. ;D

Feeding: are you getting him from a breeder? if so, your breeder should provide you with a detailed diet sheet of how much/what to feed him. If you are getting him from a rescue, your rescue should do the same. If you are not happy with what the breeder/rescue is feeding him, you can go about switching as long as you do it slowly.

Training: begins from day one. Set rules, boundaries and limitations (Gosh -- did I just say that? call me Miss Cesar Millan!) and sign up for a puppy training class ASAP. Get him used to his collar and leash by having him drag it around. Begin the very simple foundations of obedience training -- try teaching him to 'sit'.