Miles first week is over

Thread: Miles first week is over

DefaultMiles first week is over

Well, Mile's first week in our home has come to a close. Miles is doing very well. He's doing well with housebreaking and he doesn't mind is crate at all. We've been working on "come", "sit", "down" and leash walking and progress is being made. Now that he's feeling quite at home here AND is a week older, stronger and wiser he's also more mischievious and playful. He's starting to play "catch me if you can" if he has a prized possession in his mouth-oh BOY.

Some observations and advice for anyone thinking about getting a puppy based on my first week. (look at me, I think I am an expert now)

1. Read up first and figure out how you are going to do things and start the minute you get home. I am so grateful for the books I read and the advice I got on this board before I brought him home. I really think that has made things easier, the crate in particular. So anyone considering a puppy, read, read, read first.

2. If you can bring puppy home when you have a few days off that is best and practice your routine for when you go back to work. I don't mean crate your pup all day as if you were at work all day, but go through the normal routine and maybe crate him for a shorter time while you run an errand.