What's the best shock collar brand
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's the best shock collar brand

JMC
    JMC is offline Junior Member

DefaultWhat's the best shock collar brand

I'm currently looking at Petsafe and Aetertek. I'm not looking to break the bank, and it's mainly for behavior training, not hunting training. Thanks in advance.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

lablover34198 is offline Senior Member

do you need to go down the shock collar route for training? what other methods have you tried?

JMC

Quote Originally Posted by lablover34198 View Post
    do you need to go down the shock collar route for training? what other methods have you tried?
    I have heard about very good results from training via shock collar. To answer your question, no I haven't tried any other method. Sometimes it's best to just jump right to the best method. I am new at this, so any pointers are greatly appreciated.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

personally i like to try positive re-enforcement training which can sometimes take longer but if persistent with it you get good results. What areas of the behavior was the collar aimed to work on? i.e lead pulling? if you give a bit more info people may be able to offer more suggestions to your problems

JMC

Quote Originally Posted by lablover34198 View Post
    What areas of the behavior was the collar aimed to work on? i.e lead pulling? if you give a bit more info people may be able to offer more suggestions to your problems
    My pup (6 months old) tends to play a little rough with my son. He hasn't been aggressive with his bite, but he will bit lightly occasionally. When I get up to correct him, he will growl at me and run away. He does not bite or get aggressive with me, he runs away. When i catch him he submits. I just want to nip the semi-aggressive behavior before he gets really big. He is on pace to be over 90 pounds.