Obedience training
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Obedience training

DefaultObedience training

I want to have help with obedience training Boone. My vet recommended a trainer in our area. I contacted her last night. She does private lessons for beginning obedience training. It is an 8 week course for $300. She comes to my home for one hour each week. Is this a reasonable price? I have no clue what to expect because I have never done this before. She comes highly recommended by my vet and his entire staff. She uses treats and positive reinforcement and told me that the choke collar will not be used for a puppy this age. She said we should start as soon as possible. Boone is 10 wks old. I thought training wasn't supposed to start until they were a bit older. Is that not the case? I have been working with him at home, more as just play. He is doing well so far. Any suggestions on other questions I should ask before I do this?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Obedience training

I think that is a normal price for having personal lessons with a trainer coming to your home, which I always think is pretty steep. You should consider other options for Boone before committing to that trainer. Perhaps you would prefer taking him to lessons that are held with others and their dogs at a local park so that he can socialize and you can learn to give commands even with other distractions. That type of training is typically half the cost or even less, but you need to decide what you think is best for you and your puppy.

Thanks. There aren't alot of options where I live. I have tried to find group lessons, but there are none available. We have a Petco here, but they can't find a trainer to teach. They have a big sign advertising that they are hiring trainers, but they told me they haven't had any luck finding anyone. I couldn't even find one trainer listed in the yellow pages. Pretty slim pickins' here.

5. Remove Advertisements