serious aggressiveness

Thread: serious aggressiveness

colbs86 is offline Junior Member

Defaultserious aggressiveness

We picked up a golden lab at 7 weeks old. Purebred, Gorgeous little guy. He's 3 months now and he has Serious aggression issues. All four of us family members have scaB's and scrapes on our arms from him. He gets two 15-20 minute walks a day. He gets real aggressive when he's getting tired. He'll start panting and keep lunging and biting and snapping. His ears go back, we can give him a Kong stuffed with goods and he still bites after. When he gets hyped up we usually hold him down on his side until you notice he calms down then you can let him go and he starts biting at other things. If you go to stop him he snaps at you. Suggestions please?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

cillovely is offline Senior Member

I'm far from an expert, but most here are going to suggest you go to training classes or hire a trainer for him.

One thing the MSPCA taught in the class we took, was with the biting, to smear peanut butter on your hand, and teach him to lick, not bite. I don't think the holding him down action is helping.

My pup, will jump on and bite my son, but not in an agressive way at all. He thinks it's playtime with his "brother". He's now 6 months and has calmed down significantly as far as the biting and niping goes. Plus the razor puppy teeth are gone which helps. I had scabs and cuts on my arms and legs from bites and scratches for most of his first 4 months.

That peanut butter on the hand I'll try. When we hold him down for a couple minutes 85-90% of the time he'll go full asleep somewhere after that. It's just bad to where you can see him getting mad, this isn't playing. Grabbing his bed growling hard and ripping it back and fourth. He's been doing the humping thing too when he gets like that

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Archie is offline Senior Member