Help! What to do with 10 week old puppy while I'm away/hubby is at work?

Thread: Help! What to do with 10 week old puppy while I'm away/hubby is at work?

NorthernGal is offline Junior Member

DefaultHelp! What to do with 10 week old puppy while I'm away/hubby is at work?

Hi all,

I posted a few months ago about our new addition - he officially joined the family a couple of weeks ago!

puppy.jpg

Anyway, I could use some advice about what to do with our little dude. Here's the scoop:

I work at home 95% of the time (I'm doing a PhD and some consulting on the side). So far this has worked out very well with housebreaking/training our new pup. He seems to be catching on. My fiance works about 35 minutes from home, and often has to travel around the area for work. This means that he leaves early (around 7:30AM) and does not come back until around 5:30-6PM most night.

Unfortunately, I am having to take a work-related trip out of town for 11 days (7 work days). While we would have no qualms leaving our older dog at home during my fiance's long work days, we are stumped as to what to do with our puppy. I called our kennel and they don't take puppies until after they are 4 months old.

We have tossed a few ideas around:

- We have a LARGE wire crate for puppy (currently we are using a divider so that the crate just fits puppy's bed). It will be large enough for him as an adult. One option would be to remove the divider and create a mini-pen, containing his bed, toys, small amount of water/food, and some training pads for a toilet area. This is really not ideal but for the 7 work days my husband won't be around I don't think it would be the end of the world. The benefit of this approach is that we could leave both dogs home together so although they wouldn't be able to play together (since puppy would be crated), they could "keep each other company" by being in the same room.