New dog crate and new puppy

Thread: New dog crate and new puppy

Swinney2407 is offline Junior Member

PostNew dog crate and new puppy

Hello everybody I am new to this , I need a bit of advice, I hq e a 6 month old black lab called bonny , I have only had her a short time and have bought her a crate ,I have been advised that she is crate trained , I have no experience with a crate and just need a few do's and donts or any tips and advice .thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

bett is offline Senior Member

dont use it for punishment. do use it when you leave the house, and perhaps for sleeping. i'd also keep the crate in your bedroom, if possible.
    leave the door open when you're around, throw some treats in, a toy and let her just go in when she feels like it.

tammyhuffman is offline Senior Member

If you aren't sure if she is crate trained try feeding her in it at first and throwing high value treats in for her. Let her go in and out on her own and see how it goes. Don't force her in to the crate and just leave, always make it a positive experience. She will soon go in by her self and it may well become her secure spot that you find her in at random times even though you are home and the crate door is open.
    Tammy
    Maxx & Emma Jean
    Ozzy - 10/16/02 - 06/28/11 - Always in my heart.

Sometimes the hardest part isn't letting go - but learning to start over.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

smokey is offline Senior Member

Quote Originally Posted by tammyhuffman View Post