Training Puppy to Play

Thread: Training Puppy to Play

Furthuron is offline Junior Member

DefaultTraining Puppy to Play

Hi All. I have had six-month-old Elphie for almost two months now, and she's kind of starting to learn to play after being in a multi-dog shelter (meaning lots of dogs all in one little enclosure) for the first five months of her life. When I first got her, she didn't really know what to do with a ball or anything else, and now she'll run around the yard with a ball in her mouth if I chase her and keep her constantly engaged. It's been difficult for me, especially on days I've been ill or injured (back problems).

I'm a teacher, and I'm trying to get Elphie on a schedule so that when I go back to work, she is used to doing the same thing every day. We just built a dog run for her outside, and that's where she lives when we're not home. I tried crating her, but she goes insane even after months of working on crating. The dog run has shade, water, toys, and some room to roam, which works well for her.

However, I can't just wake up and put her in the dog run since she needs to release some energy, right? That's where the problem starts. I can get her to play sometimes, but never in the morning, which is when I really need her to play. She's awake and enthusiastic, but becomes "ADD dog" the minute I get out of bed. She gets really excited about her ball or frisbee, but the minute I throw it, she's off sniffing something or just lying on the grass. I've tried playing with her about an hour after we get up, but even then it's a chore to get her to even chase a ball for more than a few throws.

We've been working on fetch, but she's so food-motivated that the minute treats are introduced, she has no interest in anything but the treats and won't chase anything. She's super smart and has learned a lot of new things (sit, down, come, up, off, etc.), but this whole fetch thing is just not working out.