HELP!! My 8mo Chocolate has turned in to a different puppy!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP!! My 8mo Chocolate has turned in to a different puppy!

harleysmom is offline Junior Member

UnhappyHELP!! My 8mo Chocolate has turned in to a different puppy!

Hi! I'm new to this - so bear with me!

I have an 8mo old chocolate lab named Harley.
    Until this past week, she has been a normal handful of a puppy.
    Lots of playing, lots of work - but nothing unmanageable.
    She is my first lab, so this has all been a learning experience for me.

This week.. everything changed, and I can't for the life of figure out why.
    But regardless of why - I just want to get things back to our "normal" zoo.

She is randomly peeing all over my house. She hasn't really owned any certain spots, but it's destroying my carpet.
    She's had two UTIs already - but I don't think that has as much to do with it as it is a behavioral problem.
    We tried yelling (I know.. not productive), and every time we catch her - we take her outside through the same door.
    I've seen recommendations to take her out on a schedule, and slowly increase the minutes - which would a very doable option. I'm just afraid that because of the UTI problems, that she may have never learned 100% the whole housebreaking idea, and with her reaching 1 year, I'm concerned about always having to deal with this.

She's stopped sleeping well, even at relatively the same bedtime each night. We switched her out of the crate at night (our preference), and it went very well for three weeks. Now.. she wants to play, not lay down. She's begun scratching at our bedroom door, I leave with thoughts of her needing to go outside - she immediately snatches a toy and runs to play. After reading around, I'm thinking she's not getting enough exercise? It blows my mind - as we play constantly, but if that's the case.. and it would help most of our problems, I'd be more than happy to fit in a walk, or MORE fetch.