Buddy pulls and chews lesh when I try to get him to walk with me.

Thread: Buddy pulls and chews lesh when I try to get him to walk with me.

Gladhappy is offline Junior Member

DefaultBuddy pulls and chews lesh when I try to get him to walk with me.

Hi I am new to the this forum. Buddy is a 5 month old chocolate lab. He is very smart and was house trained at 12 weeks old. He sits when ask and I am now trying to get him to stay when ask. He is crate trained and trained to stay in side an electric fence.

Right now he likes to jump up and bite how can I get this to stop. Also when I try to walk him on a lesh he pulls and chews the lead. Also when We take him to public places where other people or dogs are around he will not listen at all. Please help not sure what to do at this point.

Gladhappy
    Last edited by Gladhappy; 12-23-2010 at 09:48 AM. Reason: spelling mistake

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

HersheyK's Dad is offline Senior Member

Whoa! Multiple issues here.

The dog is young, and probably getting enough confidence that he is testing you. This will continue until you get control.

Jumping? Is he jumping to get your attention? if yes, turn your back on him, and do not respond to him until he stops. Then praise the stop.
    Biting? He is probably turning over his puppy teeth to adult teeth at that age. It could be teething, and the need to gnaw at something. But you should not tolerate his mouth on skin at this point. Loud, harsh, NO! Yelp! Anything to let him know you aren't happy with it. Shove a toy in his mouth as an alternative. Time out in the kennel.

Walking on lead and pulling. Try a Gentle Leader or similar harness for the pulling. Encourage him to stay at your side with treats. Tie lead around your waist, do not let him pull you, stand your ground. Immediately reverse direction whenever he pulls on the lead.