Is this Normal? Puppy Issues

Thread: Is this Normal? Puppy Issues

swanny320 is offline Member

DefaultIs this Normal? Puppy Issues

I have an 11 week old lab and so far things have been going really well with potty training. He has been going to the door (though not telling me..but I notice and catch him and take him out). His mistakes in the house have been minimal; however, when I put him in his crate, now and again he has pee accidents. I try to not leave him in there longer than four hours (I come home from work to check on him)...is this normal for him to be making mistakes or am I doing something wrong? He hasn't pooped in his crate and I can tell he is holding that because he poops the instant I get in him the grass. I'm new at this and I know he is still a baby but before I chalk up the peeing to that, I want to make sure I'm not messing up.

Also, I've had him for about a week and a half. He doesn't cry at night but when I put him in his crate to go to work, he cries and barks. If I put him in his crate while I get ready in the morning, he fusses and throws a fit, barking etc. I thought he would have stopped this by now but hasn't. Is this normal too? Any tips or advice? Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

maloneandme is offline Senior Member

hey!
    I'd say that four hours is a bit long to leave an 11 wk old puppy in the crate.. So yes, it is normal for him to make mistakes, in my opinion...