Help! Puppy is jumping and biting

Thread: Help! Puppy is jumping and biting

Cshipman83 is offline Junior Member

DefaultHelp! Puppy is jumping and biting

Hey Guys! Daisy is now 11 weeks old and has started jumping and biting (playfully of course) with no intent to hurt anyone but her sharp little teeth still break the skin. How can we stop her from jumping and nipping.

We go back to obedience class next Sunday but was hoping to get some answers sooner!

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

murphsmom is offline Senior Member

I am no expert, but this is what I do. I always have my puppies drag a leash around. This makes jumping much easier to correct. Does Daisy know "sit" yet? If so, practice having someone walk up to the puppy and say sit. If Daisy jumps, tug them gently back down with the leash and have the other person walk away. Try again, when Daisy sits, have the person give her a treat. The object is to get Daisy to think "if I sit when someone walks up to me, I will get a treat". After they master it with others, give the leash to someone else. You don't want Daisy to think she only has to behave when you have the leash. Hope it helps!!!

Dragging the leash around the house also helps when they get something they can't have. Easier to catch them than running around and around the couch.

Hang in there!!!!

MurphySullyHogan

Cshipman83 is offline Junior Member

Thanks that's very helpful. It happens more to my husband when he is sitting on the floor with her she gets so exciting that she begins jumping at his face and play nipping. We firmly say "No!" but she doesn't seem to understand...

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

HersheyK's Dad is offline Senior Member

No expert here, but I do believe that young dogs jump for attention, the biting is just something they have to learn is not aceptable.