puppy biting too hard
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: puppy biting too hard

danitolaboy is offline Member

Defaultpuppy biting too hard

Hi everyone,

Alex is biting and playing too rough latetly and its getting a little out of control for comfort. To the point my 7 year old son will not come out of his room when alex is in the living room with us.

things we have tried so far

1. ignoring him and ending play time (has worked the best so far)

2. loud "ouch" or "yelp"

3. growling back at him.

4. gently holding his mouth closed

90% of the time he's a good boy but when we try to play with him he automatically gets too excited and starts biting at our hands,feet whatever he can get a hold too.

Any advice is highly appreciated

Thanks,

Danny

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Holding his mouth shut never worked for us. I would advise against growling back, I think it actually encourages the rough house play style but I am not an expert. The ouch or yelp only worked for us a few times. We found ignoring and ending the play time to work best for us too. Just stick to whatever you choose and be consistant. I would think sticking to just one is the best option. It will get better. It worked for us within a week or two. Sometimes there are a few episodes when he gets really excited but they cease as soon as we ignore.

cycler is offline Senior Member

We also have a the same thing going on with our puppy, Muddy. He gets into the "zone" and just wants to rough house. Only thing that calms him down is the penalty box (crate). With all the bad weather we have been having, we can not get him out enough, and I think that adds to his frustration, in the house.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Boston is offline Senior Member