Question: Dark dog in the snow

Thread: Question: Dark dog in the snow

HersheyK's Dad is offline Senior Member

DefaultQuestion: Dark dog in the snow

Fact: I am an amateur with more camera than I know how to use.

I use a Pentax K10D camera. When I take shots of HK in the snow the camera exposes for the snow and HK ends up very dark with little discerable detail. The brighter the sun the worse it gets. Will pushing the ev setting help? How far should I push it. How many fstops should I push it, if the is a better approach? Will pushing the ASA help? Suggestions?

She is usually far enough away and not taking up much of the frame so I don't think center monitoring would help and she is usually moving.

Okay, ready for suggestions.
    PS: I know the camera does not make the photographer, but the photographer may make the camera.
    Hershey Kisses, In charge of getting Ed out to the dog park so that he gets some exercise.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Linda1 is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Question: Dark dog in the snow

Good question. I have the same problem with Jazzy. I don't know what the right answer is. I sometimes get a great picture and other times Jazzy is a brown blob. Today I was able to get this shot. The snow is blown, but at least I can see Jazzy's features. The snow was bright, but over cast sky.
    Canon EOS 350D
    1/800s f/6.3 at 48.0mm iso400

I decided to research a little. One place said: Winter offers some fabulous light, especially in the morning and late afternoon. But it's tricky, too. The bright white of snow and ice reflects sunlight, and you end up with too much light in your pictures. This means less detail, less contrast, and washed-out colors. Here is one way to handle all that light: Turn on your flash: More light may seem like the last thing you need, but the flash actually balances out the light off the snow, filling in darker areas, so you get the picture you want.