What settings do I need to use..
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What settings do I need to use..

  1. #1
    Linda1's Avatar
    Linda1 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brookville, Pa.
    Posts
    8,812

    DefaultWhat settings do I need to use..

    Last night we had a bear right outside our kitchen window. I grabbed my camera and it had the 70-200L f2.8 IS lens on. I could not get it to take a picture. It was jet black outside and i had the kitchen lights off. I tried several setting and nothing. I guess it wasn't finding any contrast to focus on? I was very nervous, and upset. Jake had been outside and barking at the bear and by the time I got him in I wasn't thinking straight enough to use manual and set things up.

    I quickly put my 17-55 2.8 IS on and I was able to get a few pictures. Now why did this lens focus? I had the external flash on for both lens.

    On the last two pictures shutter speed was 2 sec./f2.8/iso400



    Brookville, Pa.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    112deadpool's Avatar
    112deadpool is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    192

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    Not that I am an expert or anything but I would suggest opening your aperture up and bumping up your ISO. This may also help you to increase your shutter speed. I do agree your camera would not focus because it had a hard time finding something to focus on in the dark. What setting was your camera on? Program? Shutter Priority? Aperture Priority? When I am shooting a "portrait" I either put it to manual or aperture priority.

  4. #3
    imported_Jimbo's Avatar
    imported_Jimbo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,871

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    This is what I would have used...

  5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    imported_Jimbo's Avatar
    imported_Jimbo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,871

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    My 70-200 f/4L IS tends to hunt in low light, especially when I try to zoom in on something, so I end up switching to manual focus.

  7. #5
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    The longer telephoto lens will have a hard time unless you open it to it's shortest focal length. You might try turning on an outside light. I would use aperture priority set at 2.8, ISO at 800 and let the camera set the shutterspeed. You might need a tripod, if the SS is too long.


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

  8. #6
    Linda1's Avatar
    Linda1 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brookville, Pa.
    Posts
    8,812

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    Thanks for the suggestions. I guess I just don't understand why I could get a picture with the one lens and not the other. The only difference would have been focal length. I have to say it was so dark that I couldn't even tell if I was aiming at the bear! I hope I don't have another opportunity to try again!!

    Brookville, Pa.

  9. #7
    lab-junkie is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    93

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo
    This is what I would have used...
    I'm with you! Loaded with a tranquilizer of course!
    He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion. - Anonymous

  10. #8
    harleydog1 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    235

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    Wow!!! those are some cool pics....

  11. #9
    Kwinon is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,891

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    Your photos are amazing!

    If it had been me, perfect camera settings wouldn't have mattered. My hands would've been shaking too much to get a good photo . . .

  12. #10
    SurferMom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    344

    DefaultRe: What settings do I need to use..

    EEEKKKK

    With something like that you need to be in Manual and I would put the ISO up to at least 800 like a few other people said. I would of shot it in RAW too so I could mess with the editing too.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25