Question about ISO...
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Question about ISO...

  1. #1
    imported_Aim is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,788

    DefaultQuestion about ISO...

    How high can you go before the noise from a higher ISO is noticeable?

    When I first got my camera, I was talking to a friend of my FIL's who takes wonderful shots. And he said to me he never shoots above a 200 ISO. That has really stuck in my brain and I find I'm missing a lot of good shots due to bad lighting, where a high ISO might help. I need to get what he said out of my head. LOL
    This is my dog. His name is Tucker. And we live in Ontario, Canada, eh! <br /><br />

  2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    I've always heard the rule of thumb is ISO 400. I've also been told that if your picture is properly exposed with the correct settings, you can go even higher without a problem. That being said, Raian has a lot of trouble with noise above 400 with her Nikon D50. I have the Canon 350D. I can go all the way to 1600 without a lot of noise, if the picture is well exposed. I would never miss a shot because I was afraid of using too high an ISO. Most editing programs have a decent noise removal filter. I use PS Elements 5. I love it's noise filter.


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

  4. #3
    3TailsWaggin's Avatar
    3TailsWaggin is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10,258

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    I get noise at 800. I will use it if it means getting the shot or not, but I prefer to use 200 or 400. I've seen some cameras shoot at 1600 with very little noise. Mine doesn't do that

  5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    imported_Jimbo's Avatar
    imported_Jimbo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,871

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    I start seeing noticeable noise around ISO 1000 especially if my photos are underexposed. Indoors with crappy lighting, I'll use ISO 1600 and sometimes even ISO 3200... But I won't print anything larger then a 5 x 7 if I use ISO 3200.

    Here are some examples with very little post-processing...
    ISO 1000: http://img398.imageshack.us/img398/7882/iso1000us7.jpg
    ISO 1600: http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/8659/iso1600ee2.jpg
    ISO 3200: http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/5656/iso3200cc1.jpg

    Same pictures filtered with Noise reduction software....
    ISO 1000: http://img398.imageshack.us/img398/8...ilteredqw3.jpg
    ISO 1600: http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4...ilteredvt6.jpg
    ISO 3200: http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/9...ilteredeq5.jpg


  7. #5
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    Wow, Jim. There all good. The last 2 are impressive the way it got rid of the noise. What noise reduction software do you use?


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

  8. #6
    imported_Jimbo's Avatar
    imported_Jimbo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,871

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    Quote Originally Posted by buddysmom
    Wow, Jim. There all good. The last 2 are impressive the way it got rid of the noise. What noise reduction software do you use?
    Noiseware

  9. #7
    imported_Aim is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,788

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    Thanks! I just need to retrain my brain that it is OK to change the ISO.
    This is my dog. His name is Tucker. And we live in Ontario, Canada, eh! <br /><br />

  10. #8
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: Question about ISO...

    LOL My brain knows it's ok to change the ISO. I have to just train mine to do it. LOL I'm always forgetting.


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25