Basic Lens Question ...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Basic Lens Question ...

  1. #1
    TheBigRaloo's Avatar
    TheBigRaloo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,347

    DefaultBasic Lens Question ...

    I discovered today that my camera CAN accomodate different lenses (the manual calls them conversion lenses). Does this mean that I could buy a lens that will greatly increase my aperture options (as opposed to the current fixed range on f/2.7 through f/8.0)? I'm just curious as to how much more I could get out of my camera with an additional lens.

    Thanks!
    Ivy and Raleigh - BFF since 2001<br />

  2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    Remind me again what camera you have.


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

  4. #3
    TheBigRaloo's Avatar
    TheBigRaloo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,347

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    I have the Canon Powershot S2 IS. I have been reading on Amazon, and apparently there are three conversion lenses that Canon makes for this camera. A macro, a wide-angle, and a telephoto. I am interested in the telephoto ... it is inexpensive, and the reviews are fairly positive - http://www.amazon.com/Canon-TC-DC58B...041478-0321536

    I know that this will give me more zoom ... but I'm unclear as to whether it will increase my aperture range.

    Thanks, buddysmom!!!
    Ivy and Raleigh - BFF since 2001<br />

  5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    I don't think it will increase your aperture. You're not changing your lens where the aperture is set. You're adding a teleconverter. I'm not sure about your camera, but on my camera, if I put a teleconverter on my Canon XT, it will cut the minimum aperture by one f stop. My 70-200mm f/4 L lens becomes a f/5.6 lens.


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

  7. #5
    TheBigRaloo's Avatar
    TheBigRaloo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,347

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    Thanks, buddysmom. That makes sense ... I'm not really changing the lens, I'm just converting the existing lens. It still might be nice for nature photos. ???
    Ivy and Raleigh - BFF since 2001<br />

  8. #6
    Buddysmom's Avatar
    Buddysmom is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Summerville, SC
    Posts
    7,052

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    I'm not sure what the maximum focal length of your camera is. To know what the focal length will be with the converter, you will multiply the maximum FL by 1.5.


    Eiderdowns That's My Buddy
    CDX, RE, WC, CGC, TDInc.
    Monnie

  9. #7
    imported_Jimbo's Avatar
    imported_Jimbo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,871

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    The maximum distance on your camera without the 1.5x teleconverter is 432mm and 648mm with it.

    I have a 1.7x teleconverter for my Sony H5 and I love it, especially for moon shots.



  10. #8
    TheBigRaloo's Avatar
    TheBigRaloo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,347

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    Thanks, Jimbo. I saw one moon shot on the Amazon reviews, and I was really impressed! Your shot is even better! Great photo.

    I think I will get the lens. We have a herd of female deer that frequent the woods near our house ... I'm hoping that we might see some wee ones this spring, so I definitely want a zoom lens ready! ;D
    Ivy and Raleigh - BFF since 2001<br />

  11. #9
    imported_Jimbo's Avatar
    imported_Jimbo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,871

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    Did your camera come with a conversion adapter tube? If not then you will need one...
    http://www.amazon.com/Canon-LAH-DC20.../dp/B0009O6IXA


  12. #10
    TheBigRaloo's Avatar
    TheBigRaloo is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,347

    DefaultRe: Basic Lens Question ...

    Thanks. The camera did not come with the adapter, but I saw the "buy them together" thing on Amazon for $122. That is before shipping, so I will check my local Ritz Camera to see if they came meet (or beat) that price.
    Ivy and Raleigh - BFF since 2001<br />

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25