I'm a BAD trainer!

Thread: I'm a BAD trainer!

patm is offline Senior Member

DefaultI'm a BAD trainer!

I've been very,very bad at my training the last several weeks. We have basically done nothing except a few commands each for a few little treats - things that can be done indoors. Skippy is going to be starting an 8 week basic obedience Jan.10th, and I won't be taking Emilu to class until after that, unless I can get Skippy to stay fairly quiet while I am in class with her. I need to buckle down and start regular training with them both at home. Emilu really likes to train and gets antsy if we don't train for a while. 100 flogs with a wet noodle for me - a bad, bad trainer!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

3TailsWaggin is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: I'm a BAD trainer!

Your not bad You'll get back into the swing of things after the holidays are gone.

I know lately I've been spending more time training my students to train their dogs, than working on my owne dogs.

Although today I started teaching Remington Weave Poles and he did FANTASTIC on them, so I'm pretty pleased.

Just do a little bit each day. It all comes together then.

debjen is offline Senior Member

Nothing wrong with taking some time off..we are out of classes for a few weeks right now and we are taking some time off...no training except for normal nice dog etiquette..

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

brody is offline Senior Member

I think good trainers give themselves and their dogs a break sometimes

I have been doing fitness work and a little bit of table work (as I haven't worked that in wayyyyyyyy too long) with Brody

fitness and basic routines with Sally - touch the touch plate, touch my hand, come, go to mat, down ... blah blah

nothing at all with Thea - she's hibernating til its above zero she keeps telling me

cheers
    http://andrea-agilityaddict.blogspot.com/