CRUD!!!! Grace did a RA match tonight and NQ'd on the jump. Ticked me off to no end. We were approaching the jump and it seemed like Grace was going to heel with me around it, so I stopped and used my hands to direct her over, and then we kept on going. The judge said that was a NQ because I stopped. But when I read the rules now that I am home, I would think that was an incorrectly performed station (IP) which is 10 points off. I realize that my passing by the jump is a major component, but the rules don't specify that this kind of error is a NQ. I know it says that Handler Errors can be assessed from 1-10 points off and even an NQ, but I just don't understand why that was an NQ when she went over the jump and didn't drop the bar or even touch it with her feet.
I never had problems with Maddy so I never had to question the rules so closely. Of course when we got home and practiced, she did it fine. And I'll have to be a little pre-emptive in my directions when we do the jump tomorrow. But I am still stumped. Any one have any ideas why that counts as a NQ?
I would have thought it would have been 10 off for incorrectly performed unless the dog hit the jump too hard. Then it would be a nq
UCDX GRCH Dunn's Marsh Caleb of Waltona UDX3, OM3, RAE Canadian UD, RE
FallRiver's Micah of Waltona GN RAE, Canadian CD, RN
Oh she cleared the jump just fine. I stopped right at the post to keep her from heeling past the jump and directed her over, and she jumped fine and heeled right back up with me on the other side.
Someone else told me that the judges have alot of discretionay power as to what they can NQ, so I guess this one thought it was more important for ME to run by vs. the dog obeying my command and doing the jump correctly.
Let's just hope it's a solid jump instead of a bar jump tomorrow. I just hate the thought of blowing the money on something that stupid.
It's like when in 2007 it was still an NQ when the dog got out of position in the honor...Maddy had a 100 going into the honor on her last RE leg and she laid down on her sit honor. Thankfully that's just an IP now.
Worrying paid off....we got a 98 and FIRST PLACE today. One more leg and we have our RA title! Go Grace!
Big Congrats on that 98!!! Whoo Whoo!!! As far as the jump goes, I've been doing Rally for a while now (working on our first RAE) and it seems like the jumps are still the thing that people have the most differing ideas about. I was at a show a little while back and a person NQ'd because her dog refused the jump and she didn't redo it. I asked her a little later why she didn't redo the jump and she thought you couldn't (old rules). I was "sure" that you could retry the jump now, and asked around and found that most of the people there (experienced rally peeps) weren't sure either. Also - you don't have to run past anymore, just "pass by". Not really sure about your situation (stopping) seems like an IP, but not sure.
congrats on the Q and 1st place
I did talk to some of the "old timers" at the show and they all said because the description said that the handler was supposed to move by, that's the reason for the NQ. Then someone on another board said that in Advanced if you lose the full 10 points on a jump, it's always an NQ. I still don't get it. I must say that part of what helped is that today, the judge put the cone and sign about 3 feet to the right of the jump, so you moved past between the jump and the cone. Last night the cone was right at the jump. And I can see where THAT might be confusing to a dog since cones are often obstacles to heel around.