Rally

Thread: Rally

DefaultRally

I will be starting rally with my 3 yr old male choc. lab soon, he is in an advanced obedience class that also practices for trials. Anyways, I have been training him to compete in obedience titles for 3 years, I thought it would be best to start him in rally first to get him warmed up to the ring, and have some experience under his belt.

I've also started clicker training him, and he's doing an awesome job, when he doesn't have treats (is why I'm using the clicker, so he doesn't get one after EVERY excercise) he doesn't respond as well, I'm hoping the clicker training will help on holding off on the treats until after my training session.

Could anyone please prep me for the rally ring? I know it's much more relaxed, and I can talk to my dog, but is there something I should know before I step in? He's went through an advanced course once and did fine, but I'm planning to start competing next month, last minute tips please!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Rally

My advice, if you are planning to go into competitive obedience at some point, treat rally just like an obedience ring. Do not use the talking, hand clapping, etc unless you really need it and wean off of it quickly. People forget that it really is just a tool, it is not a requirement for Rally. I've seen too many dogs that become so dependent on that constant verbal feedback that they can't function in the silent obedience ring. It's no different than having a dog that will only work for treats.

When you are ready to compete, you need to decide what your goals are. Do you want perfect scores or do you just want to qualify? You will train and compete differently for each. Is Rally a stepping stone to obedience (just looking for ring experience) or is Rally where you want to devote your training? Again you will train and compete differently.