Ring Nerves
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ring Nerves

Mom2Rowdy is offline Member

DefaultRing Nerves

Does anyone struggle with Ring Nerves and if so how do you cope?

I am very new to the entire Rally thing and I am having a bad time of ring nerves. It is really hurting our performance. This past weekend it was more than clear that I had to get this problem under control. We did very poor and it was 99% me.

I have purchased the book "Conquering Ring Nerves" by Diane Peters Mayer. I was also thinking of taking yoga or some type of class.

I am afraid if I don't soon get a grip on this I will want to quit. I have had to push myself to go at every event, even though I know we both know what we are doing and can do it well. I want to do more but the day or two before any competition I start to worry myself sick (literally).
    <br /><br />Rowdy RL1, EVBB Donor

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Canyon Labradors is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Ring Nerves

I don't really have too much of a problem with the performance stuff, my nerves are usually in the breed ring!

Once thing I do that helps with the performance jitters though it to give yourself PLENTY of time. I like getting there like an hour early, check in, get the course map, relax, walk around with the dog, kind of get them excited, get the sniffing out of the way etc.

rottnlabs is offline Senior Member

So many of my training buddies have ring nerves so I'm very familiar with the effects on their performance. Showing should be fun and getting so nervous that you want to throw up can not possibly be fun. I don't get nervous. I think nerves are 100% mental. You have to quiet your self talk or change your self talk to something positive.

Ask yourself what you are nervous about.