Rally Pivots.

Thread: Rally Pivots.

ZRL
    ZRL is offline Senior Member

DefaultRally Pivots.

Can someone please, please,please explain in great detail how to train left pivots?

Zeke always swings out and ends up facing me with a silly grin "was that right??" :

Zeke RN, agility miscreant and CGC failure

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

theoconbrio is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Rally Pivots.

I'm a novice, so take anything I say with a grain of salt.

First, your dog needs to understand that heel is really straight. You can train this by heeling against a curb, or taking one step at a time with a chair on your left, so there's just enough room for the dog to fit through.

Next is to teach the dog to move his hind end independently. You can heel in very tight counterclockwise circles, or heel around a chair (chair is on your left) as above.

Also you can cut a 36" circle board, about 2" off the ground. Heel clockwise with your dog standing on the board. If he doesn't move his butt independently, he'll fall off the board.

I'm curious to hear what others will suggest. I found the folding chair to be the easiest and most flexible tool for this exercise.

One other thing: I found that the tighter and cleaner Theo's left finish got, the better he understood the left pivot. I use a variant of the same hand signal (verbal cue: "swing") for both commands.

Fallriver is offline Senior Member

In addition to the above, you can also use a second leash and wrap it along the outside of him, over his butt, just under his tail. Hold the leash in your right hand. As you pivot left, put slight pressure on the leash and make sure you mark as soon as he begins to use his rear. Once he is pushing his rear toward you, you can give it a cue (i.e. get it 'in') and then you can give him that cue while you are moving.