Agility

Thread: Agility

SharonaZamboni is offline Senior Member

DefaultAgility

There is an agility club in my town, and I've been thinking about getting Bean involved. Waiting to see if classes are held at times I can attend, since I work evenings.
    I'm assuming that we would be doing "gentle" training until he's older. What are some things we can work on at home?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Milesmom is offline Senior Member

Hi there!

That is a difficult question to answer not knowing what you have done thus far. I am also not an expert having just trained my first dog. It looks like your pup is about 9 months old. I will say that obedience is the foundation for any dog sport you'd like to get involved in. That doesn't mean you have to perfect obedience before introducing your pup to agility foundations but obedience is still necessary. I can't stress this enough. I see too many handlers that try to gloss over the obedience part just to get to the agility and it shows. We started in obedience and moved into agility and I have found I rely heavily on obedience skills.

1. Attention. We built a partnership in obedience and he looks to me for direction. A good game for building attention is "watch" he has to make eye contact to get the reward. I also play what is called the zen game. we started with him in a down and I have a cookie in each hand. He doesn't get a cookie until he makes eye contact with me. We built from there. In agility you want the dog to look to you when you say her name.

2. Recall! You need a good solid recall. Your dog should come when you call them. It is a run saving skill when the dog is heading for an off course obstacle or the ring gate and you can call them back (it's a real bummer to have a nice clean run and get an F because your dog ran out of the ring after the last obstacle!).