a link to an article I found thought provoking
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: a link to an article I found thought provoking

brody is offline Senior Member

Defaulta link to an article I found thought provoking

http://www.dogdaysnw.com/doc/overall_collars.pdf

about aversive training by Karen Overall

a teaser for those of you, like me, on dial up - but really I urge you to read the article your selves - there is lots in between worth checking out ;0

"Given what I do for a living, my focus is always going to be the dogs. That said, whether or not anyone understands or accepts what I have written here, there is one aspect, not yet discussed, that must be considered. A blind reliance on these methods is preventing handlers and trainers from
    having the partnership with science and scientists that would benefit both of them."

"We can do better. The canine handler teams that work best are those that best understand and trust each other. Anything that interferes with that trust and understanding is hurting the team."
    http://andrea-agilityaddict.blogspot.com/

“I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.” H. Keller

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Milesmom is offline Senior Member

I read most of the article. It got a little too technical for me. I think I got the jist of it and that is that building a respectful and trusting relationship will get you farther with your dog than aversive tactics. I think teaching the dog to understand his job will get you better and more consistent results than teaching them to avoid certain activities. With these aversive therapies to run the risk of serious mis understandings. We've all heard about dogs afraid to go outside because of their electric fence. They didn't learn about a boundary, they learned that they get hurt when they outside.