Should I...?

Thread: Should I...?

TheLimpShrimp is offline Senior Member

DefaultShould I...?

So I've been reading about feeding raw for a while now. I would love to do raw entirely, but at this point it's not going to work, however, I would like to feed raw maybe twice a week - twice as in MEALS, not days, and am wondering if this is a good idea or if I should just stick to kibble. Would it be more disruptive to his system and not worth it or would any amount to raw be better than nothing?

Also what would be a corresponding portion of raw vs. kibble?

I would like your input on this please!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

henrysmom is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Should I...?

I'm no raw expert but I can tell you what I do. Henry eats a raw meal in the morning (prepackaged... we alternate between Nature's Variety and Urban Carnivore) and a Fromms grain-free kibble meal in the evening. With his GI issues the way they are, this balance seems to work very well for us and he is doing very well.

The only caveat is not to feed raw AND kibble in the same meal (as they are digested differently).

Gorsebrook Jackson Triggs, CD, RN, WC, CGN<br />Kelrobin A Twist of Fate<br /><br />

CaliforniaLabLover is offline Senior Member

It was getting waaaaay too pricey to feed my boy 100% raw with the sheer amounts it was taking to keep weight on him, so I moved to raw in the morning and kibble (he gets Natural Balance organic chicken) in the evening. Works well for us, but like Felicia said, it seems to be important not to give them both raw and kibble in the same meal since it can lead to digestive problems.

~Julie, Rogue, Monty, and Eddy~

"The reason a dog has so many friends is that he wags his tail instead of his tongue." -Anon

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Cinder4evr is offline Senior Member