Orijen for Lab puppy..

Thread: Orijen for Lab puppy..

cri
    cri is offline Junior Member

DefaultOrijen for Lab puppy..

Hello everyone i'm new to this form today. I was recommended Orijen for my puppy and i agree that seems to be great food for dogs. So we went out and bought it last night and started her on it today.
    The only problem is how do you know how much to give her? She was getting 3 cups a day of science diet 1 1/2 cup in the morning and one at night. We switched her off that cause i found out how bad it is for them, and she wasn't eating it anymore. Also someone just scared me and told me i shouldn't be giving Orijen to a lab as its not a good food for their growth. So i'm really confused i'm really hoping its ok to give her as i just spent enough on it. Any help would be soooo appreciated.
    THanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Fallriver is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Orijen for Lab puppy..

She'll do just fine on the Orijen. Some people panic about the high protein level and the higher calcium levels but they are fine and balanced with the phosphorus so no worries. I would give her about 3/4 of what the bag recommends and adjust from there, depending on her condition.
    Dana

To err is human:To forgive, canine."
    - Anonymous

cri
    cri is offline Junior Member

Thanks for the reassurance!! the bag only says how much to feed for the expectent weight? So i don't know what she is expected to weigh? i just emailed the company maybe they can have some insight..

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

I would think the average weight for a larador bitch is 70#
    Dana

- Anonymous

Snowco Labradors is offline Senior Member

You don't need to be concerned with the amount of protein but you do with the amount of calcium

The Orijen large breed puppy is a better choice for proper amount of calcium than the regular puppy.