Dermal Staph Infections

Thread: Dermal Staph Infections

DefaultDermal Staph Infections

Hi everyone! Before I even start my post I wanted to thank everyone who's replied to my previous posts...I'm new to being a puppy mom and all your advice and encouragement has really made the difference!! Thanks again!

Ok, now to my question. When we first brought Remi home a couple of weeks ago we noticed scabby round patches on his belly that were extremely itchy. He would literally spend his entire day licking and chewing his belly and hind legs if we didn't stop him. At one point a small red area came out on his stomach, within a day there was a large pustule where the spot had been that (to my horror) Remi licked off the same day. The next day I brought him to the vets and the vet diagnosed him with a dermal staph infection. Remi was put on oral antibiotics twice a day for 10 days and we were instructed to give him a bath with ChlorhexiDerm shampoo a minimum of three times per week. He's been getting a bath every other day for the past three weeks and he's finished his oral antibiotic. But guess what....he's still itchy! The red sores and crusty spots are gone but he still chews on himself, mostly his legs, feet, tail, right around his little pee-pee and his collar area though not to the extent as before. I've checked the areas he is licking and chewing and I don't see anything...no redness or sores or anything. The only thing I can notice is the skin is a little warm. When we went to see the vet he had told us everything would clear up in a week or two and that we wouldn't need to come back.

Has anyone ever dealt with this? I know someone had mentioned it in another post I had started but just wondering if there are others out there and what they're experience was. At this point I'm starting to wonder if he's got something completely different, like maybe a food allergy or something along those lines. Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

2. Remove Advertisements